Japchae


February is a busy month. There is a lot to look forward too, but also a lot to do.

I´m really excited for my Dad to come visit me February 27th. He will be staying for a week. Also, next weekend is a long weekend! Lots of Seoul exploring to be done.

At work, it feels like the calm before the storm. This week we are beginning rehearsals for 7 years old Kindergarten classes. Time is going to quickly! My dad actually arrives the night after graduation. It will be an emotional time for all of the teachers, saying goodbye to our classes. Also, a quick transition into getting a brand new Kindergarten class. In some cases, some teachers will be receiving 5 and 6 years olds who have never spoken English before. Nerve racking to say the least. My class, when I arrived, had already had 6 months at LCI.

So we are currently practicing their musical english plays (my class is performing The Little Mermaid) and also practicing each kid´s individual speech. It´s a lot to try and do with 10 kids. Very hard for me to make sure every kid is where they need to be in a class that big. Ellie´s been helping me when she can.

I did have a lot of fun last week singing ¨Kiss The Girl¨with a Jamaican accent. My kids thought I was a little crazy, but I´m used to that.

But, enough about work.

This week, I did a lot of shopping. I want to say I feel guilty, but I kinda don´t. That´s just what you DO in Korea. Shop.

On Saturday, a few of the teachers and I went to Suwon to check out the Goodwill and chow on some tasty Thai food.

Suwon looked pretty at night:

DSCN2909

We went to Artbox and I totally caved in and bought this way too cute bunny PJ top. It´s very Korean and very adorable.

Photo on 2-3-13 at 10.19 PM #3 Photo on 2-3-13 at 10.23 PM #2

Sunday, I went with Heather and Rachel to Coex. Korean fashion is the best.

DSCN2912 DSCN2915

We hit up the Uniqlo (They have foreigner sizes!) and Zara. I found TWO pairs of pants that I liked and that fit and bought some cute brown oxfords. Yay spending money?

DSCN2924

To finish the weekend, I tired my hand at making japchae, which is a noodle and vegetable dish. I actually have made this before in the States, but it was more work to hunt down the sweet potato noodles. It turned out tasty! I didn´t use beef, but I think beef would taste great.

I adapted my recipe from the recipe on this blog:

http://www.maangchi.com/recipe/japchae

Japchae 잡채

INGREDIENTS:

1 red pepper, cut into matchsticks

two medium carrots, cut into matchsticks

1 zuchinni, cut into matchstick

4-5 shitakes mushrooms, cut thinly

3-4 cloves of garlic, minced

1 medium white onion, cut into thin strips

4-5 green onions, diced

1 head of spinach, washed

1 bag of  Korean sweet potato starch noodles called dangmyeon, 당면

Thin strips of beef

soy sauce

sesame oil

1/2 cup fo sugar

black pepper

sesame seeds

DIRECTIONS:

Put a large pot of water on to boil. Sautee the carrots, zucchini, and red pepper in a little sesame oil until pliable, but not overcooked. Set aside.

Boil the sweet potato noodles for about 3 minutes. Do a taste test to make sure they are cooked. Drain the noodles in a strainer, but do not put cold water over the noodles. Put the noodle in a large bowl with some sesame oil. Use the left over hot water to boil the spinach for about 2 minutes. Remove the spinach, and squeeze out the water to create a ball in your hands. Cut the spinach ball into pieces, and add back to the noodles. Next, take scissors and cut the noodles.

DSCN2918

Sautee the onions, garlic, and green onion. Set aside.

Sautee the beef and shitake mushrooms with a little sesame oil and soy sauce. Set aside.

Add all the veggies to your noodles, and the beef, and toss by hand. Add 3-4 tablespoons of soy sauce, and about five tablespoons of sesame oil. Add the sugar, sesame seeds, and black pepper. Toss lightly by hand. Taste for more soy or sugar.

DSCN2919

DSCN2921

And ta-day! Japchae.

DSCN2920

One response

Leave a Reply

