New Kinders and Spring Sunshine


The last few weeks have been a bit hectic at work but it´s just starting to settle in and we´ve had a few days of 60 degree sunshine which had altered my entire mood. Spring is such a relief from the doom and gloom.

My new Kindergarten class is FANTASTIC. I have four boys and one girl and I´m totally in love with all of them.

DSCN3238 DSCN3239

(Left to right, Jason, Willy, Tommy, Louis and Lucia)

Jason is a heartbreaker. He is so sweet and polite. He pushes in all the chairs without being asked when we leave the room. Also as smart as a whip. Willy is adorable. Always so happy and enthusiastic. I have to tell him to stop shouting he gets so excited for the answers!!  Plus, check out those dimples. 🙂 Tommy is thoughtful and introspective. Sometimes he plays too rough, but he focuses well when we do art and handwriting and is respectful. Louis is silly and fun, but also a very studious, focused kid. He is kind and nice to the other kids. At playtime, he lets the other kids jump on him. Lucia is very sweet and always smiling. Sometimes she has a little trouble focusing on book work, but she tries. She listens well and loves to sing. She always makes me pictures.

They are a great bunch. They were a bit shy at first, but now they are very confident and learning SO fast. It only took them TWO days to learn the days of the week. It´s been so nice having a smaller class and also having more boys! My last class of 9 only had two boys and it was very girl-focused. These boys are great. They are fun, but not too rowdy, and respectful. They listen well and are SO cute.

DSCN3241 DSCN3242

Last Thursday we saw a play as a school field trip. My class was SO well-behaved and Willy held my hand the whole time. They were so sweet and even made sure to look out for each other. If one was behind, they would say, ¨Grace Teacher, where is Tommy?¨ You could see the concern in their eyes.  It was also really nice to do something fun. The routine at school is so taxing with so much book work. I fantasize about taking my kids to a park and just letting them run wild.

DSCN3247

I was very nervous about starting with a new class with NO English, but it´s been a huge blessing. At school, you never know what can happen. Kids can leave at the drop of the hat, or one day you show up at work and there is a new student. So, I´m really enjoying these moments before some big change comes along.

We received a bunch of new scheduling items and general changes in curriculum, some of which I like more than others. It´s just now starting to be more manageable and I´m not staying late every day.

Still going to yoga regularly which I have to say is one of the best things I´ve done. I´m slowly getting more flexible and I feel much healthier because of it. Also, with the warmed weather I´ve been running occasionally which feels good. I really miss playing soccer….it´s been so long! I´m probably terrible now.

Right, off to get a hair cut and then off for some sushi in Gangnam. Happy Weekend!

One response

Leave a Reply

