Goodbye to Korea


The month of August has been hot, sweaty and emotionally draining. Trying to pack to go home and also go traveling in S.E. Asia can be tricky and overwhelming. But, I did my best to squeeze a lot of fun in there too.

Right after summer break, we went on a field trip for MK to see the Samsung car museum. My boys loved all the cars, but it was a little frustrating cause there was no space for them to run around. Willy sat next to me to and from the museum. We had lots of bonding moments.

DSCN0082 DSCN0084 1072298_10151498870216360_2090312841_o DSCN0115 DSCN0094 DSCN0088

A few weeks ago, I went to a soccer game in Suwon: Korea vs. Peru. Kinda fun to mix my past and present in one event. I wasn´t sure who to cheer for!

DSCN0424 DSCN0425 DSCN0428 DSCN0429

We had a day off on August 15th and I decided to go with Rachel and Nate to see the Mizakaya exhibit at the Seoul Arts Center. It was way cool. I was a huge Totoro fan as a kid and the exhibit inspired me to go home and see Spirited Away and Princess Mononoke. He is such an intensely precise and methodical artist and it was awe-inspiring to see all of his drawings in person.

DSCN0431 DSCN0439 DSCN0440 DSCN0444 DSCN0445 DSCN0447 DSCN0450

Then last weekend, to celebrate my final week in Korea, I went with friends to Muido Island which I´d been meaning to do since i came to Korea. We were blessed with great weather (if not a bit hot). It was a lot of fun and great to get away from the stress of moving for a minute.

DSCN0473 DSCN0476 DSCN0492 DSCN0498 DSCN0513 DSCN0516 DSCN0518 DSCN0520 DSCN0522 DSCN0524

And here I am, having just finished my LAST WEEK of work. It was very surreal, and very sad to say goodbye. I will miss many of my students, but I am a little heart broken over my kinder class. I love them so. It hurts 😦

Here´s some pictures of my last day at LCI

Me and my babies. I totally cried….what a wuss!

DSCN0562 DSCN0559 DSCN0563 DSCN0558

Kiddies and their new watches and cards.

Tommy

DSCN0557

Louis

DSCN0556

Lucia

DSCN0555

Andrew

DSCN0554

 

Willy

 

DSCN0553

Jason

DSCN0552

2nd grade

DSCN0541 DSCN0537

3rd grade

DSCN0545 DSCN0542

DSCN0546

1st grade-Elizabeth, Diego and Ryan. So smart.

DSCN0568

406 Newspaper-Fun group!

DSCN0571 DSCN0570

Working for LCI this past year has been a memorable experience. It seems like so long ago when I received my first class and the perils that ensued. Although it has not been perfect, and there are some things I dislike about hagwons, I don´t regret my decision to teach here. I enjoyed the job the majority of the time, made good money, had had a lot of fun, at work and outside of work. I´ve made some really great friends and am proud of myself for teaching such long hours and adjusting to a very different culture and lifestyle. I´m very nervous about my transition back home, but I feel it´s time. After almost three years teaching English abroad, I´m ready to stay in one place for a while and grow some roots. I miss my family and am getting tired of saying goodbye to friends.  I´ve applied to Seattle U to start Spring 2014, and will apply for other teaching programs as well. So, I can see future ahead, no matter how vague and murky. Gives me hope.

Plus, I can´t wait to get out of this dark, moldy apartment.

I plan to write one more blog post once I return home about my S.E. Asia trip, as I´m sure it will be eventful. Rachel and I are nervous and excited. It´s gonna be jam packed! Bangkok-Chiang Rai-Chiang Mai-Ko Phi Phi-Siem Reap-Hanoi-Seoul-Seattle.

Wish me luck!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

